Picking up where I left off here.
Wednesday morning we picked up our bikes about 9am. We were each riding identical Royal Enfield 450 Himalayans.
Got them all loaded up. The boys had saddle bags on theirs and we all had a box on the back. I had them take my saddle bags off in hopes to make it a little lighter. It felt pretty heavy at first, and these bikes have more of an adventure frame on them which make them top heavy. My feet could touch, barely... but to be honest I was totally used to it all after the three days and felt really comfortable on it by the time we returned the bikes, haha.
Got out of the rental parking lot, phew. Stopped just a few blocks down the road at Walmart to pick me up some new zapatoes. The shoes I were wearing were killing my feet, too small. Found some that felt much better for the remainder of the trip.
We headed up to the highway, which had an incline of an on ramp. The guys made it up... but I was certain this was the hill I was going to die on, LOL. I finally made it up, kept killing the bike while trying not to let it roll down hill and get it going. Takes some learning. Oh and I failed to mention Kyle and I got our moto licenses this past summer. We both took a super fun weekend course, passed the test and I've been driving our shiny red vespa to work all summer. But it'd been since June that I'd used a clutch so needed to get the hang of it again.
First stop just to regroup on the highway stretch.
First official stop was in the little area of Puerto Nuevo. Josh knew of a lobster place for lunch.
My first (and only) time I laid it down. We were going up hill then I followed Josh in a sharp left into this parking spot facing downhill. Couldn't handle the weight of the bike and the turn and drop it on its side. No big harm done, just a minor scratch and bruised knee.
We walked down hill to the corner spot so we could sit and watch the ocean while we ate.
Some food in our belly's and time to get back on the bikes.
Our next jaunt was south down the coast, then we took Hwy 1 inland at La Mision through beautiful hills, wind-y roads, gorgeous views. We stopped when we turned off Hwy 1 onto Carr. Francico Zarco.
This was a back road that led us to our next stay for the night in a winery called: Don Tomas Vineyard
We were there off season but the cabins were super cute and beautiful vineyard.
We walked down to the tasting room and restaurant. The restaurant closed at 5 and the tasting room had already closed. They did sell us a bottle of wine though.
The dinner drive was exciting. It was dark... which I'd never ridden in the dark before. Wasn't too happy about it at the time, actually I was quite pissed. But in the end I'm thankful we did it and it ended up being super fun and a very memorable dinner. It was only about 9 kms away, which would normally be about a 13 minutes drive but we were going slow so prob took us more like 20. Problem was my face shield caused a glare and wasn't the cleanest at this point so every time an approaching car came by it blinded me and I couldn't see anything. We turned off the paved road onto a washed out dirt road. And when I say washed out I mean big RUTS. The road back to our cabin was also a sandy, dirt road but felt smooth compared to this one. We finally made it and feeling like it was going to be my last meal, not sure if I would survive the ride home.
The restaurant was called Finca Altozano, while it was dark and we couldn't see past the edge of the seating deck, I bet it had an amazing view.
It did have dogs. Dogs everywhere, which was very comforting giving the near death day I had riding a motorcycle across parts of Mexico :-P
And the food was AMAZING!
We tried the grilled octopus (soy sauce, citrus, ginger, cilantro and roasted peanuts) and brussel sprouts for an appetizer both were fantastic.
I had the risotto (right), Kyle had spicy shrimp (middle), and Josh had the lasagna, maybe (left). The menu has already changed because I was going to list what we had but even the brussel sprout item has changed.
worth the trek
Oh and tres leches for dessert!
Cool bathroom sign and I noticed this sign about the dogs on our way out:
I wanted a photo incase I didn't live to see the next day.
But we made it back to the cabin, phew. :-P Got some rest and had coffee at our cabin on the porch the next morning. So thankful they had a coffee maker in the cabin. It was a little chilly but it was beautiful and being it was two full days without the kids I could finally hear myself THINK!
Found this little guy hiding under my jacket in the cabin. We got the bikes loaded again and said goodbye to our vineyard place.
Stopped at the main area to return our key and do a little photo shoot before heading into the town to get a better view of the little town of Valle de Guadalupe.
We rode north the same way we did the night before, just able to see this time. When we made it to the tiny village we turned back southeast on the smaller road through town. This was fun to explore and we stopped at a little side road tent. Josh was looking for a breakfast drink. We didn't find what he was looking for but had this amazing banana oatmeal drink instead. It was so good!
That was it for the Valle. We continued east back to the coast.
No lo entenderias means "You wouldn't Understand"
Next stop Ensenada.
No comments:
Post a Comment